[custom-twitter-feeds feed=1]

The Netball Show with Flyhawk

  /  SSN   /  Bruce wins Liz Ellis 2023 Award

Bruce wins Liz Ellis 2023 Award

Dominant defender Courtney Bruce has been crowned the 2023 Liz Ellis Diamond at the Australian Netball Awards, receiving the honour for the second time.

Bruce received netball’s top award for her stellar domestic and international seasons with the West Coast Fever and the Origin Australian Diamonds.
In recognition of her incredible year with the Origin Australian Diamonds, Bruce was also crowned International Player of the Year, making her the sixth Diamond in the last decade to take home both awards.
At 29-years-old, Bruce played an instrumental role in helping the Diamonds re-stock the trophy cabinet over the past 12 months as Defender of the Series at the 2023 Netball Quad Series and the 2023 Netball World Cup.
On the 2023 Suncorp Super Netball stage as West Coast Fever captain, Bruce continued to be a defensive force with 35 intercepts, 103 deflections and 39 rebounds.
“It is absolutely crazy to win”, Bruce said. “Not many people see the hard work that we put in behind the scenes to get to perform every day. This award is so special considering the bunch of athletes currently playing in Australia. I am so grateful to spend the time I do with my teams and to treasure the memories on and off the court.”
Adelaide Thunderbirds’ Shamera Sterling was named the Suncorp Super Netball Player of the Year following a standout year that included the 2023 Suncorp Super Netball premiership. The defender topped the defensive table across the year to achieve 118 deflections, 46 intercepts and 38 rebounds.
Second place for the award went to the NSW Swifts’ Helen Housby and third place to Queensland Firebird Donnell Wallam, both of whom were named in the Suncorp Super Netball Team of the Year (below) alongside Sterling.
Goal shooter – Donnell Wallam (Queensland Firebirds)
Goal attack – Helen Housby (NSW Swfits)
Wing attack – Paige Hadley (NSW Swifts)
Centre – Jamie-Lee Price (GIANTS Netball)
Wing defence – Latanya Wilson (Adelaide Thunderbirds)
Goal defence – Jodi-Ann Ward (Collingwood Magpies)
Goal keeper – Shamera Sterling (Adelaide Thunderbirds)
Attack reserve – Steph Wood (Sunshine Coast Lightning)
Centre reserve – Liz Watson (Melbourne Vixens)
Defence reserve – Courtney Bruce (West Coast Fever)
The Suncorp Super Netball Rookie of the Year went to Adelaide Thunderbirds’ goaler Lucy Austin. At just 21 years-old, Austin’s composure in the 2023 Grand Final helped her team secure the championship rights for the first time in Suncorp Super Netball history. She also secured 108 goals at 82 per cent accuracy across the 2023 home and away rounds.
The Joyce Brown Coach of the Year was awarded to Origin Australian Diamonds head coach Stacey Marinkovich for the second year in a row. Marinkovich led the Diamonds to four international series victories in 2023 including the Netball Quad Series, Netball World Cup, Constellation Cup and South Africa Series.
Pam Redmond (Diamonds #56) and Sue Kenny OAM (Diamonds #46) were inducted into the Netball Australia Hall of Fame in recognition of their significant contribution to Australian netball. Diamond #81 Jill McIntosh AM was bestowed Netball Australia’s highest honour, becoming a Hall of Fame Legend for her achievements and tenure as a player and coach at all levels of the game.
Former Australian Diamonds physiotherapist Sean Mungovan was awarded this years’ Service Award and umpire Josh Bowring was named the Lorna McConchie Umpire of the Year for his national and international umpiring contributions across 2023.
To round out the evening’s awards, Emily Andrew was acknowledged as the Australian National Championships Player of the Year and Matilda Garrett was awarded the FAST5 Netball World Series Player of the Series.
It was however an awards ceremony that also saw concern over player attendance given an ongoing dispute about contracts. The Diamond players are contractually obliged to attend

error: Content is protected !!