[custom-twitter-feeds feed=1]

The Netball Show with Flyhawk

  /  UK   /  2024 Goalden Globe Winners

2024 Goalden Globe Winners

England Netball has awarded their latest Goalden Globe awards celebrating volunteers in Netball.

A host of inspiring and incredible individuals and organisations have been recognised for their contributions to the sport at the National ONE Awards.

The ONE Awards celebrates wonderful members of the Netball Family who are helping to lead a movement on and beyond the court in local communities up and down the country.

This year saw a record of 1,042 award nominations, leading to celebrations at the nine regional ONE Awards held earlier this year and with the winners of each of the 10 award categories being invited to last night’s celebrations.

England Netball CEO Fran Connolly welcomed more than 264 guests to the Belfry Hotel in Sutton Coldfield and brought Vitality Roses Head Coach Jess Thirlby and Netball World Cup debutants Funmi Fadoju and Olivia Tchine to the stage to acknowledge an historic summer after the team reached their first final.

There were 23 awards presented on the evening, starting with seven recipients of the Pass on Your Passion reward and recognition scheme acknowledging the contributions of some amazing young volunteers who have logged over 400 hours of volunteering.

A number of special awards were presented later in the evening. This included the Long Service Award for Barbara Warburton for her dedication to netball in Gloucestershire and the South West for the last 40 years, and the World Netball Service Award for Gordon Padley for his services to netball.

Mary Stanley, Joan Young and Kerrie Jones were also recognised for their outstanding commitment and promotion of the sport with Honorary Life Memberships.

The Special Recognition Award went to the Wiltshire County Netball Association to recognise the pioneering efforts of an amazing quartet who led the organisation of a brilliant netball festival held earlier this year, combining expert education on many female health topics in relation to our new education programme NETBALLHer.

Joan Mills, England Netball President, ended the night with closing remarks after presenting the Club of the Year Award to Dronfield Netball Club.

2023 National One Awards Winners:
Pass on Your Passion, presented by Fran Connolly (England Netball CEO)
Lilli-May Schuck, Sydney Ward, Scarlett Lees, Freya Ingham, Amiee Hilton, Francesca Stafford, Katie Brooks-Shea.

Young Volunteer of the Year, presented by Ziana Butt (Young Volunteer of the Year 2022)
Alisha Gardener

Teacher of the Year, presented by Ziana Butt
Sophie Meister

Inclusion Award, presented by Jennifer Thomas (England Netball Senior Independent Director)
Asia Liaqat & Women’s Netball League

Coach of the Year – Children & Young People, presented by Jess Thirlby (Vitality Roses Head Coach)
Nichola Lawless

Coach of the Year, presented by Jess Thirlby
Linda Andrews

Community Official of the Year, presented by Sheelagh Redpath
Jane Kelloe

Long Service Award, presented by Bridget Blow (England Netball Chair)
Barbara Warburton

World Netball Service Award, presented by Clare Briegal (World Netball CEO)
Gordon Padley

Honorary Life Members, presented by Fran Connolly
Mary Stanley, Joan Young & Kerrie Jones

Special Recognition Award, presented by Fran Connolly
Wiltshire County Netball Association

Pioneer of the Year, presented by Funmi Fadoju (Vitality Rose)
Julie Smith

Outstanding Contribution of the Year, presented by Funmi Fadoju
Donna Osborn

Unsung Hero of the Year, presented by Olivia Tchine (Vitality Rose)
Alice Turner

Club of the Year, presented by Joan Mills, (England Netball President)
Dronfield Netball Club

Netball could not happen without the thousands of volunteers who help to make our incredible sport what it is.

If you’re interested in finding out more about volunteering in netball, click here.

error: Content is protected !!