[custom-twitter-feeds feed=1]

The Netball Show with Flyhawk

  /  NWC 2023   /  NWC 2023: Housby named player of tournament

NWC 2023: Housby named player of tournament

The curtain closes on Cape Town 2023 and what a Netball World Cup we have seen.

Australia reclaimed the Netball World Cup after defeating England 61-45 in the final of the tournament at the Cape Town International Convention Centre on Sunday. That saw the Diamonds lifting the trophy, which was presented by South African president Cyril Ramaphosa, for a record-extending 12th time.

Earlier in the evening in the bronze medal playoff, Jamaica defeated New Zealand for the second time in a matter of days to secure their first podium place since 2007.

At the end of 10 days of enthralling action in Cape Town, England goal attack Helen Housby was named Player of the Tournament and best attacking player. New Zealand’s Kate Heffernan was named the best midcourt player while Australia’s Courtney Bruce was selected as the best defender.

Before handing over the trophy to the Australian team, President Cyril Ramaphosa addressed those gathered at the Cape Town International Convention Centre, saying that the past 10 days of action had converted him into becoming a netball fan. He also hailed the uniquely African vibe at the tournament and pledged to assist in growing the sport in South Africa by building a dedicated netball arena.

Individual player awards at the Netball World Cup 2023:
Player of the tournament: Helen Housby (England)
Best attacking player: Helen Housby (England)
Best midcourt player: Kate Heffernan (New Zealand)
Best defender: Courtney Bruce (Australia)

Final placings at the Netball World Cup 2023:
Gold: Australia
Silver: England
Bronze: Jamaica
4. New Zealand
5. Uganda
6. South Africa
7. Malawi
8. Tonga
9. Wales
10. Scotland
11. Fiji
12. Trinidad and Tobago
13. Zimbabwe
14. Barbados
15. Singapore
16. Sri Lanka

error: Content is protected !!