[custom-twitter-feeds feed=1]

The Netball Show with Flyhawk

  /  World   /  Watson Crowned Liz Ellis Diamond

Watson Crowned Liz Ellis Diamond

Diamonds captain Liz Watson has won her second Liz Ellis Diamond.

Origin Australian Diamonds captain Liz Watson has been awarded the 2022 Liz Ellis Diamond at tonight’s Australian Netball Awards, becoming the second player in the last decade to receive the honour twice.

Watson received netball’s top award for her stellar domestic and international seasons with the Melbourne Vixens and the Origin Australian Diamonds.

Watson stamped her authority as one of the world’s best midcourt players during three of the Diamonds groundbreaking international wins, including the 2022 Quad Series, the 2022 Birmingham Commonwealth Games and the 2022 Constellation Cup.

As co-captain of the Melbourne Vixens, Watson was Suncorp Super Netball’s lead feeder across the 2022 season with 405 goal assists. The 28-year-old also claimed the club’s Sharelle McMahon Medal as its best and fairest player.

“I feel honoured to be awarded this year’s Liz Ellis Diamond,” Watson said.

“It has been a huge year and I am really proud to cap it off with this award.”

“I am even more impressed by the talent and dedication shown by the team and staff across the Diamonds 2022 campaign.”

In recognition of her incredible year with the Origin Australian Diamonds, Watson was also crowned International Player of the Year alongside last year’s Liz Ellis Diamond recipient and Diamonds teammate Courtney Bruce.

Watson rounded out a remarkable evening by being named in the Suncorp Super Netball Team of the Year (below), which was voted on by players, coaches and high-performance staff and is made up of the highest vote-getter for every position across the court.

  • Goal shooter – Jhaniele Fowler (West Coast Fever)
  • Goal attack – Gretel Bueta (Queensland Firebirds)
  • Wing attack – Liz Watson (Melbourne Vixens)
  • Centre – Maddy Proud (NSW Swifts)
  • Wing defence – Amy Parmenter (GIANTS Netball)
  • Goal defence – Latanya Wilson (Adelaide Thunderbirds)
  • Goal keeper – Shamera Sterling (Adelaide Thunderbirds)
  • Attack reserve – Jo Harten (GIANTS Netball)
  • Centre reserve – Kelsey Browne (Collingwood Magpies)
  • Defence reserve – Courtney Bruce (West Coast Fever)

West Coast Fever’s Jhaniele Fowler repeated history to be named the Suncorp Super Netball Player of the Year for the fifth year in a row. The 2022 premiership player reigned as the league’s top goal scorer with 929 goals, 38 more goals than last year, and topped the chart for offensive rebounds with 55 across the season.

After an incredible breakout season with the Queensland Firebirds that resulted in a Diamonds call up, goaler Donnell Wallam was announced the Suncorp Super Netball Rookie of the Year having shot 519 goals at 86 per cent goal accuracy in her debut season.

The Joyce Brown Coach of the Year was awarded to Diamonds head coach Stacey Marinkovich for her success across the year at the international coaching level. Marinkovich led the Diamond to four international victories in 2022 including the Netball Quad Series, Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games, Constellation Cup and England Series.

Six Diamonds made their international debut under Marinkovich’s guidance in 2022, including Sunday Aryang (#184), Amy Parmenter (#185), Maddy Proud (#186), Sophie Dwyer (#187), Ruby Bakewell-Doran (#188) and Donnell Wallam (#189). All debutants were recognised with an Australian Diamonds pendant.

Stella Northey and Margaret Molina OAM were inducted into the Netball Australia Hall of Fame in recognition of their significant contribution to Australian netball. Chris Burton OAM was bestowed Netball Australia’s highest honour becoming a Hall of Fame Legend for her achievements and tenure as a player and umpire.

In recognition of his outstanding service to netball, Todd Miller was awarded this year’s Service Award and umpire Jemma Cook was named the Lorna McConchie Umpire of the Year for her contribution to umpiring across the 2022 Suncorp Super Netball season.

To round out the evening’s awards, Hannah Mundy was acknowledged as the Australian National Championships Player of the Year and Tara Hinchliffe was awarded the Fast5 Netball World Series Player of the Series.

The 2022 Australian Netball Awards took place in Brisbane and marked the first in-person event since 2019.

error: Content is protected !!