Type to search


INF Superleague Preview

The Vitality Netball Super League returns this weekend. Here’s the INF guide.

The Vitality Netball Super League is the premier netball league in the UK. It returns earlier than usual this time around due to the Commonwealth Games taking place this April. Wasps Netball are the defending champions having beating Loughborough Lightning in the Grand Final last season.

The Format
Ten sides from England, Scotland and Wales make up the Superleague. The season runs from February to July with a mid season break after round seven, accommodating for the Commonwealth Games. All sides will play each other home and away, with the top four sides advancing to the semi finals. The winners of each semi final will meet in the Grand Final on July 7th.

The Teams
Celtic Dragons
Featuring many Welsh international players, the Dragons have been ever present at every Superleague season.

Last seasons finish – 10th

Squad – Suzy Drane, Sarah Llewelyn, Sara Bell, Nia Joes, Megan Powell, Leila Thomas, Kyra Jones, Kelly Morgan, Georgia Rowe, Fern Davies, Eleanor Roberts, Clare Jones, Cara Lea Moseley, Bethan Dyke, Amanda Varey

Loughborough Lightning
Last seasons runners up features Uganda captain and last seasons Player of the Year Peace Proscovia, who was also last seasons top goal scorer.

Last seasons finish – Runners Up

Squad – Brie Grierson, Shamera Sterling, Susie Armstrong, Anya Wood, Britt Coleman, Ella Clark, Rosie Harris, Nat Panagarry, Chloe Essam, Vicki Oyesola, Beth Cobden, Lauren Nicholls, Rebekah Airey, Peace Proscovia, Hannah Joseph

The two time champions feature many international talents, including captain and England international Sasha Corbin.

Last seasons finish – 7th

Squad – Sasha Corbin, Summer Artman, Karyn Bailey, Steph Collard, Clare Drakeford, Michelle Drayne, Beth Ecuyer Dale, Zara Everitt, Lindsay Keable, Ellie Kelk, Kalifa McCollin, Gabby Marshall, Razia Quashie, Alice Travis, Frankie Wells

Manchester Thunder
Last seasons third placed side, Manchester Thunder, begin their season against Severn Stars and are captained by Emma Dovey.

Last seasons finish – 3rd

Squad – Emma Dovey, Kerry Almond, Dani Bloomfield, Bea Skingsley, Abby Tyrrell Taylor Cullen, Liana Leota, Caroline O’Hanlon, Beccy Hoult, Sophie Morgan, Amy Carter, Kathryn Turner, Joyce Mvula, Amy Clinton, Ally Thomas

Severn Stars
Severn Stars have recently appointed Sam Bird as Head Coach for their second season in the Superleague.

Last seasons finish – 8th

Squad – Markya Holtzhausen, Eleanor Cardwell, Iona Darroch, Jodie Gibson, Phumza Maweni, Laura Malcolm, Samantha Cook, Amanda Davis, Rebecca Oatley, Sophie Carter, Rosie Allison, Laura Rudland, Shona O’Dwyer, Dominique Ford-Gordon, Ella Powell-Davies

Surrey Storm
Despite finishing 5th last season Surrey Storm were the second highest scorers behind Loughborough Lightning.

Last seasons finish – 5th

Squad – Mikki Austin, Charmaine Baard, Adi Bolakoro, Sigi Burger, Rhea Dixon, Jade Forbes-Wattley, Emily Gulvin, Katie Harris, Tallisa Haynes, Katy Holland, Lorraine Kowalewska, Georgia Lees, Yasmin Parsons, Emily Porter, Jo Trip,

Team Bath
Team Bath took the final semi final spot last season by finishing fourth. Roses international Kadeen Corbin features in their squad.

Last seasons finish – 4th

Squad – Imogen Allison, Eboni Beckford-Chambers, Kadeen Corbin, Sophie Drakeford-Lewis, Asha Francis, Layla Guscoth, Josie Janz-Dawson, Chelsea Lewis, Tash Pavelin, Paige Reed, Mia Ritchie, Abi Robson, Rachel Shaw, Jess Shaw, Jazz Scott

Team Northumbria

Northumbria welcome Team Bath on the opening weekend. Last seasons top scorer was Chiara Semple.

Last seasons finish – 9th

Squad – Jenny Mrozik, Alice Currie, Holly Linighan, Iman Thomas, Chiara Semple, Ash Neal, Hayley Mulheron, Tamsin Moala, Paige Kindred, Tuaine Keenan, Emily Hollingworth, Sophie Hankin, Francine Hall, Lisa Bowman, Toni Anderson

UWS Sirens
Representing Scotland are the UWS Sirens which feature many a international player, including Scottish Thistles captain Claire Brownie.

Last seasons finish – 6th

Squad – Claire Brownie, Sara Bayman, Nicola McCleery, Sam Murphy, Kelly Boyle, Lynsey Gallagher, Bethan Goodwin, Vanessa Walker, Shantal Slater, Jo Pettitt, Nicole Aiken Pinnock, Emily Nicholl, Leah Kennedy, Bethany Sutherland, Ella Gibbons,

Wasps Netball

Defending champions Wasps, start their title defense against Surrey Storm. South African international Renske Stoltz joins the squad this season.

Last seasons finish – Champions

Squad – Tamsin Greenway, Jade Clarke, Renske Stoltz, Monique Thompson, Halimat Adio, Samantha May, Lucy Harris, Georgia Fisher, Rachel Dunn, Natalie Haythornthwaite, Sophia Candappa, Amy Flanagan, Fran Williams, Hannah Reid, Josie Huckle

Fixtures – Round 1
February 10, 2018
Team Northumbria v Team Bath
Loughborough Lightning v UWS Sirens
Severn Stars v Manchester Thunder
Wasps Netball v Surrey Storm

February 12, 2018
Celtic Dragons v benecosMavericks

Previous Article